Lake Winnipeg Gear/Tips

• Aaron Zieske

Hey guys, a few of my buddies and I are taking a trip to Winnipeg over spring break in March. I have never fished the lake so I’m pretty new to the lake and the gear that it requires. I’m looking for any tips that you may have or experiences on the lake after the greenbacks. I have done some research on the types of lures that are used out there such as rattle baits and others but if you could also tell me what has worked best for you too that would be awesome. I will more than likely have to pick up a few other heavier/longer rods as most of the walleye rods that I have may not hold up to some of those fish up there. I have a few TUCRs and was thinking of picking up a Commander for the trip. If you could also let me know what types of rods you have used on the lake I would greatly appreciate it. I currently have a 12″ auger extension for my Eskimo Z71 shark so I’m also wondering if that will be enough auger for the ice up there in March? Or should I maybe pick up an 18″ extension? Thanks in advance!

4walleye
    Central SD

There was a post a couple of weeks ago about fishing Lake Winnipeg through the ice. Lots of recommendations on colors and types of lures. Trolling spoons and Live Target baits seemed to be the best bets. Check it out. Best tip was to make sure you are prepared for every thing that can happen!

taz
    Frederic wi