Humbling Kabetogama

• timatkn
    MN

I’ve been fishing Kabetogama on and off for at least 10 years. Sometimes I feel like a fishing pro and sometimes I feel like I have no idea what I am doing. You can slay the walleyes in a spot one evening and the rest of the week that spot may never produce again.

Here are my tips (I welcome any contradictions or additions as I feel like I will NEVER learn this lake and perhaps that’s why I keep returning)
    1. This lake seems to have a great forage base. At times it makes the fishing tough. They just don’t need to chase or work hard for food and if they aren’t active (which seems like all the time some trips) they just aren’t going to go a long distance. Try slow…then slower… 1/2 mph or less. Could be vertical jigging or long lining and just dragging it a few feet off the bottom or a Lindy rig. The lightest weight you can get away with the better.
    2. Lindy rig snell length: I am used to the longer the snell the better. On Kab…seems like shorter is better. 2 feet, 3 feet at most. At times 18 inches has out fished longer snells.
    3. Anyone ever said…the fish are everywhere and no where …frustrating. Don’t get married to “spots” If they aren’t biting move. You catch a few and the bite stops…move. Maybe come back later, but don’t waste time just because a spot was great before. In the same day, you can catch fish in 7 feet of water and in 30 feet of water.
    4. Wind is your friend and enemy. Windward side if you can do boat control almost always holds fish, wind can create current between islands you can treat that almost like a river. Fish the current and current breaks.
    5. If all else fails, you can troll cranks, try to pick off that rare active fish and maybe help you find some spots to try and come back too with a slower approach to pick up a few more.