ABS sensor question

• phishirman
    Madison, WI

I just brought my 05 Titan in to the dealer for a recall on some sort of relay and figured I’d get an oil change and my tires rotated while it was in for service. paid for the work, hopped in and my ABS and SLIP lights are on. I went back in and they hooked it up to the computer and put the truck back up on the rack. They told me the front driver’s side ABS sensor has somehow in a miraculous coincidence failed between the time they rotated the tires and me getting in the truck and they want $200+ to replace it. I tried to change a tire on this truck one time before and found it impossible to get it off. I asked the guy at Tires Plus who put new tires on my truck how they get them off and he basically said they just beat on em til they come off. I’m no ASE mechanic, but can I pretty much assume this sensor was somehow damaged during the tire rotation?

big_g
    Isle, MN

I would think if you were getting a rotation, your tires are removed regularly ? Or that you just got new tires 6K ago ? There is no way they should have to beat your rims loose, unless they have been on the same hub for years ? Does this shop have a good reputation ? Things can happen at the darndest times…. I know here, that much of a coincidence and I am swallowing it, not worth the fight Your reaction is what most peoples would be… if you went to the doctor with a tummy ache and left with a headache, would you blame him ???

phishirman
    Madison, WI