I’m not a Power Pro Hater…

• Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

In fact for many years I thought Power Pro was the holy grail of braided catfish lines.

But there is better…

Suffix-80 lbs. Can’t say I’ve ever used it but I know of plenty that have switched to Suffix and for the same reasons I started looking around.

Courtland’s Master Braid-80 lbs. Keeps the Hi-vis yellow in the line and not on your fingers, reel or guides. Rounder for better casting which is handy for shore fishing) and I’ve noticed much less wear on the terminal end.

Team Catfish’s Tug O War- 80 lbs. Again, the Nuclear Yellow color stays on the line, the quality control is much like the Master Braid where I haven’t found a “flat” spots in the line as I’m spooling it on.

So far I have 3 years on the Tug O War braid and could go another year before turning it around. We’ll have to see what it looks like at the end of this year.

If you fish in the wood, try a spool the next time you need to re-spool. I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised at the difference you’ll find.

Ben Putnam
    Saint Paul, MN

Not to hijack your thread BK, but does anyone here use Suffix braid for their Musky Rods? I haven’t been extremely happy with the Power Pro I have been using the last few years and I have been looking into switching to Suffix this year.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster

No problem Ben.

jmaj101
    Hastings,MN

Suffix with the gore fibers is great!! I use it on all my walleye set ups and catfish set ups. VERY abrasion resistant! Seems smoother coming off the reel then power pro. Don’t get me wrong power pro is still a great product but I switched to all suffix. Just my opinion!

mplspug
    Palmetto, Florida

I’ve had a hard time using braid in my Zebco spin caster. Doesn’t come out of the hole smoothly, but it does eliminate snarls under the cap.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster

There’s Team Catfish Tug O War mono for that Pugster.

Electric Green.

Steve Root