smelting

• eye_hunter

I know that the time for smelting is coming up fast. every year i come up to duluth for smelting i always miss the run. funny that i keep trying when i live in the cities. i was just wondering if you guys can help me out. about what time should i come up there. should i come during the rain or not. rumor has it that the smelt run more in the rain. and what techniques are legal to use when it comes to smelting. i’ve seen people with sein nets bucket nets and cast nets. just wondering if they are legal. thanks for all the help.

Jason Sullivan
    Chippewa Falls, WI

I’m not an expert, but I have smelted in Duluth for about 15 years…dang has it been that long.

The start of the run is triggered by water temp.

The earliest I can remember was around the third week of April. The spring of ’97 I remember it being the 2nd week of May.

I don’t necessarily think it’s better during the rain, but the rain will help raise the water temperature. A good rain does get me excited.

Dip netting and seine nets both work. In the past 8 years, I’ve gone to strictly seine netting.

Here are your main smelting laws for MN water:

Quote:

Smelt may be taken night or day. Artificial lights may not be used to
    lure or attract smelt. There is no limit on smelt, and smelt from Lake
    Superior may be bought or sold. However, live smelt may not be
    possessed or transported.
    • Dip nets may be used for taking smelt. Minnow seines not more than 25
    feet long or 4 feet deep may be used to take smelt in the St. Louis River
    and in Lake Superior when more than 100 feet from the mouth of
    any stream.

I hope that helps a little.

Sully

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Good point!

I really wish IDA had a Field Staffer in the Duluth area that would report on the fishing around there. Sure is an area of opportunity.

jimmy wallner
    St. Paul, Minnesota