West Metro Apartments

• Trev
    Battle Lake, MN

Daughter and 2 friends are looking to move from Mankato to the west metro area this summer. Preferably the Edina, Minnetonka, St Louis Park area as they are closest to their places of employment. All 3 are recent college graduates. Suggestions for specific apartments to check into? Any rental agencies or particular areas to stay away from? Dads of young daughters that know the area, where would you suggest? I have zero knowledge of the area as far as housing. The other 2 girls are from out of state so they have no connections in the area either. Any and all input greatly appreciated.

Deuces

Oofda, hope they plan on dropping coin renting in those cities. Generally higher the rent the less crap neighbors you’ll have to deal with.

Be alot easier telling us which specific spots they’re interested in than giving out the hundreds of rental goods and bads in those areas.

As with any potential living area it’s pretty easy to drive by these areas on weekends to see what you’ll be dealing with. Friday and Saturday nights with good weather will give you lots of information

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

Lots of nice places in those areas, expect rent to be over double my mortgage payment. Being almost all apartments are precast I w9rk on lots of them and I always ask going rates. 2500 a month in that area seems about the normal for something that’s a quarter the size of my basement. They would be better off further west in a small town and drive east to work. That would be my suggestion

Brittman

They will be fine on apartment rates if there are 3 people. St Louis Park is quite nice from what I can tell … find an apartment that is 5-10 years old or more vs. brand new to save money.

The lure of inside the loop apartments is proximity to friends, gyms, and an evening social life. Living further out spending more time and money on commuting seems to be counter to that desire.

PM sent.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN