planer board help

• bluewing
    North Iowa

Would like recommendations on pulling crank baits with planer boards. I have no experience with this type of presentation, so the first thing is what planer boards to purchase? A friend of mine has recommended to skip the inline board products and purchase a mast to avoid the nuisance to fighting a fish and a board, any thoughts (PRO & CONS) certainly the costs are greater however does it really remove the hassle of resetting boards etc. Most of my fishing will be done on minnesota and Iowa lakes. Thank you in advance for taking the time to share your thoughts.

robstenger
    Northern Twin Cities, MN

What species will you be fishing for? This may determine what type of board you should get or your opinons you receive. What typues of bodies of water do you fish (crowded, open water, etc.)?

bluewing
    North Iowa

Walleyes are the target.
    Mid-size lakes with some traffic as well as I’d like to try Mille Lacs this summer.

robstenger
    Northern Twin Cities, MN

I guess I would steer you towards the In-Line board direction, the Church Walleye boards in particular. CLICK HERE for them. I have never used the tattle flags with these but might be giving them a try this Summer. I have thought about trying the Mast system, but for a few hundred bucks I can’t justify the cost yet. I will be borrowing someones this Summer and giving it a whirl. The inlines are not that big of a deal and fairly simple to use.

Last year I had reported on this method of fishing and many IDA’ers chimed in and we had a very good educational seminar on the the do’s and don’ts to pulling boards. Click on the Link Planer board 101 below to go to that fishing report.

Planer Board 101

There were 4 pages of helpful hints and members tricks to pulling boards. If you have any further questions, feel free to PM me or ask them here. Good Luck.

690reece
    Hutchinson,Minnesota