Diesel trucks

• rsee

I tried searching for this on the site and did not find it but I am older and my google-fu is not the strongest.

I’m new to diesel trucks. I’ve had my first, and current one, a year and a half. I live in Iowa and plug it in at night when it gets cold. I work overnight shift and start the truck half way through shift and run it for a few minutes. I have a trip planned to Lake of the Woods at the end of January.

My question to you guys who have diesel trucks is this. What do you guys do when it sits out on the ice all day in extreme cold temps while fishing and can’t plug the engine heater in? Do you start it up and run it a couple of times during the day.

For those of you who have wheel houses, what do you do overnight? Do you have a generator and plug the engine heater in?

My worries are not starting and gelling up. Could be my ignorance too of not having any experience with diesel motors.

Thanks for the help.

Sioux

How old is your truck?

I have a 2019, parked outside all winter it’s first year in north central Minnesota. Never had a problem. Still leave outside at work all day and starts without issue, never plugged in.

rsee

It’s a 2020 F150 with the 3.0 diesel.

B-man

I don’t know how those new Fords are to compare to, but with my Ram I only plug it in when it’s really cold out (-15 or colder)

I’ve never tested the limits of it, but it’s never-not-started with that practice and would likely handle temps much colder.

To be frank, you live in Iowa. You should rarely have to plug it in.

When fishing in the extreme cold, I don’t touch the truck or key until I know I want it to start.

If it’s cold out (like our trip this weekend will be), I’ll plug it in 4 hours minimum before I plan to leave. More is fine, but over 8 is a waste of generator gas.