Would you do this?

• Steve Plantz
    SE MN

This is Lake Zumbro near Oronoco MN on March 8th. For those of you who are not familiar with Lake Zumbro it is a river. I have no idea how thick the ice is there but that is open water on the opposite shore line. This guy was out there on Wed and Thur, I’m no expert but I am thinking that this is not a very good idea. So how many here would drive there truck out there?

Attachments:
    1. IMG_20230307_155152838.jpg

Coletrain27

I’m very familiar with lake zumbro and I would never drive a truck out there even with the coldest winter. Sleds and wheelers yes but no my truck

Dan
    Southeast MN

Is that picture taken from the road?

chuck100
    Platteville,Wi.

Ah,nope.

Jimmy Jones

Pic taken from Fisherman’s old parking lot and no, that’s not too brilliant.

Dan
    Southeast MN

Thanks. I know here in southeast MN we get 18-24 inches of ice every winter but why would anyone bother driving on the ice with a parking lot within, what, 100 yards? Of course it’s much nicer, easier, and convenient to just drop a tailgate and operate out of your vehicle and leave it running if need be. But driving on ice also is a lot riskier than not driving on ice, especially on some sort of system of moving water.

I’ve seen this in Red Wing too with vehicles parked in the Baypoint Park marina area. Literally 25 yards from the road.

eyeguy507
    SE MN

Hey he has to come up with new content for his channel! I think i know who this is and i don’t think he quite understands this lake\river. I personally would never drive my full size truck out there especially this year. i think you should be good with small trucks and cars but this year is real sketch.
    I think a lot of these gamblers probably do not own boats so they stretch it out as long as they think its safe? I hope he saves some of those 8″ crappies for me this spring!

Coletrain27

thats not a full size truck its a nissan frontier. still a nope for me though on that water