Im New to Minnesota can you guys help me get on some crappies im a shore fisher

• steve church

I recently moved up to minnesota and want to get on some crappies I heard crappies are really good tasting I havent fished much but would like to feed the fam

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

Your gonna have to take the family with in order to feed them all.

John Rasmussen
    Blaine

Soon the water temps will be right for shallow crappies. Find a lake with a good population and see where you can access the shoreline and give it a go with a flu flu under a bobber tipped with a crappie minnow and you should have some success. Think shallow bass type cover, wood etc.. and muddy northern bays are best, you just need to find the warmest water with cover.

Justin riegel

What part of the state do you live in? MN is big state.

10klakes

Start shore hopping lakes local to you with parks or whatever public land there is. Because you are shore based I’d focus on access first then surveys…
    Finding a lake with excellent populations of crappies does no good if there isn’t places to shore fish, besides the boat ramp.

CaptainMusky

I would search the MN DNR website for lake survey data in the area that you live and go from there. You can often find a public fishing pier on many lakes and do well. MN is good for public access fishing for sure.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

There’s always a shore full on clear lake. They are catching crappies right now

Justin riegel

He is referring to the Clear Lake in Forest Lake. I have never fished so i am not sure how big they run, but that shoreline is always pretty busy.

CaptainMusky

He is referring to the Clear Lake in Forest Lake. I have never fished so i am not sure how big they run, but that shoreline is always pretty busy.

Yeah there are probably 300 clear lakes in MN LOL

LabDaddy1

And probably 300 shore fishermen on that particular one rotflol

Erik Swenson