Used trucks

• eyeguy507
    SE MN

So I see a lot of 5 or so year old trucks with high mileage. I’m talking 150 plus, some over 200K miles. I still drive an 07 Sierra with 126K so are these newer trucks good to go for 300K miles or more without major problems or is it just asking for trouble?
    Just wondering what you guys or gals think? It is a hard pass for me for anything high mileage but maybe times have changed within the last decade?

Wade Boardman
    Grand Rapids, MN

You have an easy 100,000 miles left in your truck. Honestly I’ve been shopping for a clean 1980 or early 1990 truck from our west. Cheap to rebuild, can still work on it and reliable. Especially compared to the computerized nightmares of the 2000’s.

mark-bruzek
    Two Harbors, MN

No, people think their crap is gold.
    For the price people are asking for half clapped used a guy is better off buying new.

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

Take care of them and they will take care of you. If you want high milage diesel is the way to go. I have a 2005 Ford with 456,000 miles and a 2014 Dodge I just turned 390,000 on.

eyeguy507
    SE MN

You have an easy 100,000 miles left in your truck. Honestly I’ve been shopping for a clean 1980 or early 1990 truck from our west. Cheap to rebuild, can still work on it and reliable. Especially compared to the computerized nightmares of the 2000’s.

I figured I am good to go for a while. Biggest gripe for me is the rusted out rear fenders and the rims leaking air all the time as well as burning thru 2 additional quarts of oil every 5K miles.

basseyes

Take care of them and they will take care of you. If you want high milage diesel is the way to go. I have a 2005 Ford with 456,000 miles and a 2014 Dodge I just turned 390,000 on.

Any issues with the 05 Ford or any mods to it?

MX1825