P4 April 20

• Jim

That was unexpected. Arrived at Everts about 2:30 and there were no empty trailers. She said I was her first customer of the day and it was slow, including a report from a guide that day. Only a couple of boats from Everts to the dam and there were no other boats up by the dam when I got there after fishing one spot.

Caught a 15” sauger in the first 5 minutes and that was it. Hung it up about 6:45 as the wind was cold. Water temp was 48.3 F.

mojogunter

It doesn’t take long for the word to spread if the bite is bad or good. I said the same thing on Sunday when I was down there with so few boats on such a nice day. I caught some nice fish, but it was slow.

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

The transition period from spawn to consistently warming waters is the toughest bite on Pool 4 for me. For some reason I always struggle right after the spawn. I am not an expert, but I’ve always attributed it to some abrupt temperature changes in the air and consequently the water. One day it can be 70 degrees and sunny, while the next it can be spitting flurries like it is today with temps in the 20s at night. Once water hits that 55-60 degree mark without any sudden drops, trolling cranks, spinners, or drifting and dragging live bait to cover water should all turn on from Everts right on down and into the lake.

It also likely doesn’t help your odds that thousands of walleyes and saugers were pulled from that stretch of river the last few weeks. I’m not a sky is falling type guy, but for a 2-3 week stretch that portion of the river was packed and people were going home with a lot of fish.

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

It is a transition period. Like rising or falling water, it moves fish. When fish are moving, they’re less congregated. IMO, continue to focus on small congregations whether it be a group that is decreasing in size because they’re leaving spawning grounds, or a group that is growing as fish move into post spawning areas.