online firearm purchase

• chamberschamps
    Mazomanie, WI

This is my first time doing this…

I want to buy a rifle from an online store. What’s the process?

suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

Hunting forum would be best bet. Seller will likely dictate the process.

saddletramp

You have to buy through a licensed dealer. Find one that will let you do that. Most will for a fee. I know gander does.

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

Just completed my first “mail order” firearms purchase myself.

Your process might be slightly different because you’re in WI.

The firearm needs to be shipped to a Federal Firearms Licensed (FFL) dealer where you will pick up the firearm after you have completed the paperwork and required checks. FFL’s charge for this “transfer” service, I found prices were between $25 and $60.

The place I ordered my rifle from made selecting the FFL very easy. They had a list of “pre-approved” FFLs based on your zip code and selecting one of these made the process easy because all the details are already on file with the seller.

Often, what you’ll have to do is have your receiving FFL send a copy of his license and other details to the selling dealer. Often this is not a difficult process, but it adds time.

Now I don’t know anything about additional requirements that Wisconsin may place on you. In MN, we also have to get a “permit to purchase” if we’re buying handguns or scary black guns, but I have no idea what (if any) additional requirements there may be in WI.

Grouse

stillakid2
    Roberts, WI