Is the stock transducer good enough?

• Chris Aker

Hi all, I just bought a Helix 10 MEGA CHIRP SI / DI G2N GPS. It came with this transducer: XM 9 20 MSI T with a Transom mount. I’m brand new to upper level units, but I do want to have a good setup. Is that transducer fine, or do I need to upgrade?

patk
    Nisswa, MN

All good, just pay attention to how to mount that big old soap bar. Lots of good videos out there.

If you mount it correctly there’s a sizable chance that you won’t get depth readings at speed. This may or may not be important to you. If you find that it is the general solution is to add a second 2d only ducer and a “y” cable to send the signal back to the head unit.

Chris Aker

Since I posted I’ve done some more research. It appears that this transducer is definitely good enough, but some people are saying they needed to put a transducer on each side of the boat for SI, because the motor gets in the way otherwise. Patk do you agree? I really would rather spend the $300 on something else since I have a good transducer, but I have no idea how to mount the thing in a spot where the motor won’t block one of the sides.

ClownColor
    Inactive
    The Back 40

Since I posted I’ve done some more research. It appears that this transducer is definitely good enough, but some people are saying they needed to put a transducer on each side of the boat for SI, because the motor gets in the way otherwise. Patk do you agree? I really would rather spend the $300 on something else since I have a good transducer, but I have no idea how to mount the thing in a spot where the motor won’t block one of the sides.

In my boat, the motor is 100% out of the way when it’s tilted up just slightly. Is there a clear line of sight?

For what’s it worth, everyone I personally know only has one SS/DI ducer…it wasn’t until this summer on the forum I learned some people used two.

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

Yes two duecers are better then one… If it is worth it to you.