Ice Fishing Line

• MichiganFisherman21
    Grand Rapids, Michigan

Now that the ice fishing season is upon us, I have began getting my gear together but I have come to the problem of what type of Ice line to put on my reels for walleye, pan fish, lake trout, and stream trout in inland lakes. I have all ways had problems finding good line, when I use fluorocarbon it always gets curly and twisted an ive never really tried monofilament or braid. Im just paranoid on what brand, type and pound test to use now. So what should I use for walleye? Perch? Bluegill? Crappie? Lake Trout? Stream Trout?

Frenchman
    West Central Indiana

Any of the major manufacturers of Copolymer, Braids, or Fluorocarbon will be great. I like the price point and performance Vicious for my copolymer. I am just getting into braids and fluorocarbon (other than leaders). If you like the performance of fluorocarbon maybe look into treating the line to get rid of the memory.

Craig Sery
    Bloomington, MN

Check out P-Line Fluoroice. It’s a fluorocarbon coated copolymer. I switched over 4 years ago to that and haven’t had any complaints. 3lb for panfish, 4 and 6 for walleyes

biggill
    East Bethel, MN

Any of the major manufacturers of Copolymer, Braids, or Fluorocarbon will be great. I like the price point and performance Vicious for my copolymer. I am just getting into braids and fluorocarbon (other than leaders). If you like the performance of fluorocarbon maybe look into treating the line to get rid of the memory.

I disagree. All have their advantages in certain seasons and situations, but all are not equal.