wind compensation

• kevin_sahly
    maple grove,mn

I am a rookie bowhunter and pretty new to I.D.O. I was wondering how you compensate for wind. I tried searching for this topic so as to not repeat the obvious, but didn’t seem to find anything. I was hunting tonight and found myself physically holding my ground blind down at times, even though I had ground anchors in.I How much does gusty wind effect the arrow flight? For instance, using 100 gr expandable? I’m sure this question has too many variables for a simple answer. I just have no idea. Unfortunately, I’ve never gone out target shooting on a really windy day. Any advice would be appreciated.

john_steinhauer
    p4

That’s a tough one I would say wind like today I would aim a tad into the wind not much though. As well as no long shots. Allot of it is simply knowing what your equipment can do.

lick

Keep your shots close you will be fine

bob_bergeson
    cannon falls

Quote:

Keep your shots close you will be fine

X2

Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

Curious to know what types of wind have you practiced in, and what you may have found. I think there is a huge variance in archery equipment, and that all factors in. I shot alluminum logs, and 125gr rockys with an older Hoyt @ 71#. Under 35 yards, there wasn’t much affect. Longer, and it becomes very noticeable. My daughters bow, small carbon arrows, 100gr, shoot 50# at about 290+fps and lighter winds are VERY noticeable on her groups. Hard to put a “compensation” to it.

les_welch