Humminbird Helix 8 Networking questions

• Lund1775
    Waconia, MN

I have a Helix 8 G4N MSI+ on the dash, I am wanting to network another Helix 8 on the bow. To save money I was looking at the Helix 8 G4N MDI/GPS CHO and just connecting them to the transducer in the back. My Terrova only has the US2 sonar so I would like to see the same depth on both screens from the back. Has anyone done this? I am new to these units, I have seen what they will share when networked. I am wondering what I would be able to read from the front. If I have Side imaging running on the console can I use the normal sonar up front? or will they show the same screen?

Benny

I believe in your situation, you can save even more money and just get the Sonar/GPS combo. The only reason you’d need the MDI is if you had the MDI transducer on your trolling motor and wanted to use that. Otherwise, you should be able to share those transducers on the back of the boat through the ethernet network.

Each unit will operate independently, they don’t “share” screens. You can look at SI on one and 2D on the other, or whatever.

Lund1775
    Waconia, MN

So the Helix 8 Sonar/GPS would show me DI(or whatever) if I had them on the ethernet network coming from the transducers in the back? Might be a dumb question but like I said I am new to this and don’t want to over spend if I don’t have to. That is what I am seeing on Humminbirds transducer support grid chart.

Benny

Right, as long as you’re networked to a DI/SI unit you can see those on the standard unit. The transducers need to be plugged into the DI/SI unit though.

Disclaimer: I have this set up on my boat based on what I read off Humminbirds website and forums, however I haven’t tried it yet. I have a SI on the console and DI on the bow, but I have a DI transducer on my Terrova. I haven’t tested viewing SI on that DI unit at the bow yet. Everything I’ve read, including from the manufacturer, says it should work though.