Frustrated Smallie Angler

• Joe Vella

Hey Everyone! I am new on here. I’m from Chicago but I am working in Sister Bay for the summer. I am new to smallie fishing as of last year.

This year has had some major ups and downs. Late May into mid June was a hog fest. However around June 23rdish my catches started to drop to the point that now I am not catching any flippin fish! Not even dinks. I am fishing spots where there should be fish but I blank. This has really been bugging me and has made me reconsider my skill level which I do not think is the problem!!!

Someone help I need a fishing psychiastrist!! lol

Tyler Kalishek
    Cedar Falls, IA

Dude that is a tough one. I’ve only fished up there in June. I think those fish tend to roam and follow pelagic fish like the alewives later in the year, but I’m not completely sure. You could definitely try deeper structure or idle around and try to find baitfish schools

Art Green
    Brookfield,WI

Just because we think fish should be in a certain spot, it doesn’t make it so. Fish follow food and like specific conditions to live comfortably. Just like you and I.

Fish patterns change.

Follow Randy’s advice.

Pat McSharry
    Keymaster
    Saint Michael, MN

I make a family trip up there every year in August. Last year was a lot tougher, but the year before was awesome. I would try drop shotting the reefs outside of ephraim and sister bay. jackall crosstails were always a good bait out there for that. It doesn’t seem like the fishery is in the same class that it once was. You can always run out to Chambers if you can’t find fish on the shoals. I would be targeting 10-25 FOW for starters. Hope that helps!

Joe Vella