Flathead Rods

• tka6213
    New Ulm MN

I need some help on finding a good rod under$150. I’m looking for a 8′ MH casting rod. I’m new to flathead fishing and I fish mostly from the bank. Any ideas would be great thanks Travis.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

I used the bait casters and love them compared the other rods I’ve used. These will make an excellent Lake Sturgeon rod as well. One of the few rods on the market that can do that. These are Catfish rods right down to the over sized hook keeper that will hold an 8/0 hook and release it effortless. I run 80 pound Team Catfish braid on them.

Both 4 Seasons Sports in Red Wing and Everts Resort handles them. If you happen to get down to the area, I have them rigged and ready to “try before you buy” in the bait caster version.

I’ve sold two rods to clients so far this year. I had one fella that didn’t like the high density eva foam handles, but otherwise no complaints from the guys that have used them.

Heavy 7-6 iCat/HIGH STANDARD Carbon Spinning $149.95

From Team Catfish:

The finest catfishing rods and blanks on the planet are now only available through Team Catfish. The HIGH STANDARD Carbon Rod Co. and Jeff Williams founder of Team Catfish Tackle Company have designed these blanks and rods just for the Team Catfish brand. No other manufacturer in the world has access to these custom carbon blanks. These carbon blanks are built in America by HIGH STANDARD Carbon Rod Company and only sold as a HIGH STANDARD rod or Team Catfish iCat.

Why are these rods better (and more expensive)?