Cabin Owner Garbage Question

• blackbay

So what do you guys do for handling cabin garbage? There is no garbage service that makes sense at our property. It’s off the beaten path and it would either end up filled with other peoples junk or destroyed by bears. Right now we either take the stuff home, which is less than enjoyable in an SUV, or try to get to the transfer station which is a half hour away in the opposite direction and not open on Sunday’s. Anyone work out a deal with a local business or similar?

Mike

Burn barrel. Freeze the stuff that will get stinky then bring home.

AnotherFisherman

I have no experience with this, but I like the idea of working out a deal with a local business. If I was a small business owner, I would take any extra income I could. Might be worth a try.

suzuki
    Woodbury, Mn

We bring ours home. When we bought the cabin we had an SUV. I have had a pickup ever since and that is one of the main reasons.

Charles

Where’s your cabin at?

KP
    Hudson, WI

It’s not an ideal solution but you could always buy a large plastic bin to transport your garbage in your SUV home.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

Bring it home

Sharon
    SE Metro

We burn what we can (paper products, mostly), and then bring home the remainder trash. As mentioned above, if you have something that will be really stinky it’s a good idea to freeze it while you’re there then just don’t forget to add it to the trash bag before tying it off. We use the scented bags for the cabin so that it covers the scent of anything smelly on the way home.

Deleted

I know a few who have cabins by us that just recycle what tin, glass, aluminum & cardboard they can & take it to the county recycle shed 10 mins away when full & then burn any paper trash in the fire pit as starter. Scraps of food go in an ice cream bucket in the freezer and they taken back home for their garbage.

Ralph Wiggum
    Maple Grove, MN