Power loading my boat on to the trailer………

• iowa roger
    North central Iowa

I am new to trailering a boat, and seem to be having problems getting it on to the trailer.
    I tend to cut the power as the bow touches the trailer and there I set.
    It looks like others I see do it, use the motor to push the boat almost completely up on the trailer.
    I guess I need more practice, being afraid I will damage something on the boat or engine.
    The boat is a 16′ Alumacraft with a 60 HP Evanrude on it.
    Does anyone have any tips on doing this?

Thanks in advance for all ideas.

Iowa Roger

doubleshot
    Brooklyn Park, MN

I converted to a bunk trailer last year. It took me a few trips to cleanly make the adjustment too

I’d say from my experience, the most important piece is backing the trailer in the correct amount.
    It took me a few trips and a few loads to figure out how far to back it. once I got that straight, the loading became much easier.
    Also, I learned to not be timid in driving it all the way up the trailer.

Just takes practice!

chamberschamps
    Mazomanie, WI

Power loading–if the boat came off the trailer at the launch w/o dinging the LU, it will go on the trailer w/o dinging the LU.

Most people that I see at the launch having issues is because they put their trailer in too deep. These are the guys who have to load their boat 4-5 times to get it to sit square on the trailer. The best thing to do would be to go to a launch when no one is around and practice unloading and loading. Find the ideal depth for your rig to sit in the water that is easiest to load and unload and remember it. For me, I know that once the water covers the fenders I’m good to go.

And if you have a roller trailer– do not unhook your boat untill it is in the water. Otherwise it can roll off the trailer as you back down the ramp. Over the last few years I’ve seen this happen three times and it’s pretty scary.

elk_addict
    Northern IA/Lincoln Lakes Area