Ever use the Automatic Ice Fisherman?

• haywood04
    Winona, Minnesota

I saw this on one of the shows yesterday.
    http://www.automaticicefisherman.com/
    I am not promoting them just wondering if anyone has used one and what do you think? I like the idea but not sure if this is a good product or not?
    Thanks for any input.

turk802
    Twin Cities

I think it’s a great idea, but in Minnesota, it is illegal because of the setting the hook part – please correct me if I am wrong, but at the last winter ice fishing show, I mentioned it to the DNR guy there and he said NO WAY.
    Let me know if I am wrong.
    Turk

haywood04
    Winona, Minnesota

I just emailed the company so I will let you know what I find out.
    Would I be OK if I only used it on border water? I am a MN resident. Just wondering because I have no idea?

UncleGrump
    Dodge County MN

Haywood

I concur w/ the the “illeagal” part. Its basicly a “slammer” – saw a In-fisherman article on it.

They are actually fairly simple to build. I was
    going to do so, but checked w/ my local MN DNR
    CO. The answer was no.

I would suggest you have a chat w/ the officers
    on both sides of the water you will be fishing.

UG

scottsteil
    Central MN

It is a great concept at first glance. The down fall of it is the Big Red Bobber has to be on the line to trigger a strike. I would like to see the unit in action when it is below zero. I have a feeling that bobber will be a real issue when it starts to freeze up.

I do like the concept, and it is the closest I have seen yet to getting it right. I am not sure of if it is legal in MN or not.

Steve Root
    South St. Paul, MN