How often do you get checked by law enforcement?

• gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

I’ve been fishing in the central MN area for over 20 years and hunting it for deer, pheasants, ducks, and turkeys for just as long and I have NEVER been checked by a game warden or a conservation officer, ever. I fish popular lakes like Mille Lacs and Minnetonka too. I hunt mostly private land so I wouldn’t expect to run into an officer there, but still. I was checked once by the Hennepin County Water Patrol on Minnetonka for safety issues (registration, PFD’s, etc) but they had no interest in checking my angling license or my catch. I get interviewed by surveyors and AIS workers regularly, but never a law enforcement officer. I realize that these officers have a huge area to cover but at some point I feel like I should have encountered one. How often do you run into these officers while you’re in the great outdoors?

Sharon
    SE Metro

I’ve been hunting and fishing in MN for nearly 19 years as an adult, and if memory serves me, I’ve been checked three times. Twice while hunting and only once when fishing. I was checked while grouse hunting with Billy when we were about 18 in northern MN. Then checked again last fall while pheasant hunting with a group of people in southern MN. And the time I was checked while fishing was so long ago I can’t recall if I was in MN or if we were in WI with Billy’s folks.

Aaron Kalberer

I have ran into one at an access, wanted to see license and catch and was very nice and and was quick in his process, a few times by sheriff for safety equipment checks, once while turkey hunting beings I was in a area turkey hunting was not allowed (I read the rules and map wrong) he was very nice and realized I made a stupid mistake and left me with a verbal warning, and last week twice by the local police as I was loading my boat at midnight at the local access and they mainly just wanted to know how I did fishing.

ClownColor
    Inactive
    The Back 40