Dog Fish

• catmando
    wis

I was just thinking, all the lakes I have fished and over many years I have never caught one. Are they rare?

Steve Root
    South St. Paul, MN

They don’t seem to be common in all lakes, like Perch or Pike or Sunfish. I’ve been vacationing around the Aitkin area for over 30 years, and those lakes hold healthy populations. I’ve had them hit flies, crankbaits, and spinner baits. They put up a tremendous fight, great fun.

S.R.

glenn57
    cold spring mn

I’ve only caught a couple and wouldn’t hurt my feelings if I ever caught another. Yea they put up a good fight but there just as ugly and disgusting as an eelpout.

My 2 cents.

Dan
    Southeast MN

Yea they put up a good fight but there just as ugly and disgusting as an eelpout.

I’ve only caught 2 and both were one hell of a fight like Glenn says. Much like a large carp, you’re excited as all hell until it gets close to the boat and you realize what it is.

glenn57
    cold spring mn

Sheepshead relate the same when when walleye fishing. Think ya got a wall hanging walleye then you see that sheepshead.:???:

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive

Dogfish have amazingly strong jaws. I’ve had more good tackle wrecked by dogfish than any other fish.

Kirk Charipar
    west central wi

Ice fished a Mississippi backwater yesterday and saw three on the underwater camera. They were within 10yds to each other; just laying flat on the bottom like a log. Also on another backwater lake had one swim up a stick their nose up the ice hole. Wish I could’ve played Whack-a-Mole with him LOL smash

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

Largemouth Bass guys run into them frequently on Pool 4 and tributaries like the Chippewa. I’ve caught a handful. The spinner bait I was using on the last one resembled a coat hanger after the encounter.

Deleted