Weak Helix 7 return

• Reed

Hey guys,
    I’ve been on hold with Humminbird for 30+ minutes now and figured I would turn to other Helix users for help. I have a new Ice Helix 7 G4. I was on Mille Lacs this weekend and was getting very weak return where I could hardly see my lure. The attached picture was when I was using a 1/8 oz buckshot. I messed with the gain, zoom, chirp and couldn’t get it to improve. My buddy I was fishing with has the G3 version and gets a great return even with tiny jigs. I’m new to these units and am still trying to figure it all out, but if any has tips on settings it would be great!

Thanks

Attachments:
    1. helix-scaled.jpg

Bassn Dan

I’m also a new Helix 7 G-4 user, but the photo looks like the display is showing the gain setting as “1” which is the lowest setting. (The half circle under the 23.4 depth reading.)

Is the transducer hanging straight, and is it below the bottom of the ice in the hole?

If the above doesn’t improve things, try swapping transducers with your buddy’s Helix 7 if it’s the same to see if your ducer may be bad.

Good luck.

MNdrifter

I had the same with my g3. I had to have gain up to 10 to see my tumbler jig. Also my boy was using my previous FLX28 in the same fish house and even with chirp IR he was blowing me up with interference. Could hardly use my Helix7.

Reed

Yes, the gain was set low. I tried adjusting it and the chirp settings but all that did was add interference. I did get ahold of someone at Humminbird who told me how to turn on the noise filter to see if it helps next time I’m out. It would be awesome if they had support available over the weekend when most people maybe using the equipment to get help.

eyeguy507
    SE MN

Are you running a lead acid battery? May not be enough power? These units almost have to run lithiums.