How many people use fireline and what pound test??

• tfuller4
    Marion, Ia

It seems that 6/2 is the most common but has anyone tried or use the 4/1 fireline. What is your favorite kind(flourescent or smoke)!!!!!!!

stillakid2
    Roberts, WI

I’ve used all strengths of Fireline and I love the stuff. I have developed a preference for Power Pro now but Fireline still ranks very high with me.

I mostly use the 4/1 and the 14/6 though. The 4/1 is stronger than 4lbs on tensile strength tests and is very versatile in it’s applications. I have developed a preference for the flourescent stuff…………..it’s always nice to be able to see your line. I use the 14/6 a lot for cast/retrieve/trolling applications. So far, so good and I’ve been using it for 3 years now.

mbenson
    Minocqua, Wisconsin

Stillakid2:

How often do you respool that stuff? I have been considering trying one rod/reel spooled with it this year. What makes you feel better about Power Pro?

Mark

tfuller4
    Marion, Ia

im sure the 4/1 will work fine but ill be using it in canada and think i will have to respool it to like 6/2 or 8/3. oh well i guess that means i just buy new reals or try and use the 4/1 in canada.

tfuller4
    Marion, Ia

is the power pro like fireline and what is the cost compared to fireline. what ounce jigs do you use when fishing the 4/1. im sure you can get vertical with a 1/4 ounce with 4/1.

herb
    6ft under

I’ve had the 10/4 fireline on my reels for about 6 or 7 years now. The only time I’ve respooled is when I convert to power pro. So you could say I’m seconding what stillakid wrote. Cost is about the same but I think power pro has some better qualities. And with my poor eyesight I’m having to switch to the greener colors. I don’t think power pro absorbs water as bad as the fire line also.

yellowdog
    Alma Wi

I much prefer the Power Pro. It seems to be limper and have less memory. Also I think it holds a knot better and I don’t have as many problems on the reel.