Trolling Set Up

• Ny
    N Metro

Hey guys, I am new to trolling and I am looking to put together a set up. I would like to put lead core on it. What do you guys recommend for a first set up? It will be mostly used for walleye fishing.

FishBlood&RiverMud
    Prescott

I run 4 combos.
    Two are 5′ depth master rods, love em.
    Other two are 10′ eagle claw rods. I think, there yellow.

Okuma MA-45DXT New Magda Linecounter Reel on my shorties.
    Is a good reel for the price. You don’t accidently reset the counter either which is very very important to me.

My other two reels are Diawa acccudepths. Same deal where reset button is NOT ON TOP.

Suffix leadcore on all

There are, of course much pricier and better reels out there for sure.

Keep a small white board in the boat to write down:
    Speed, line amount, current, lure, and tally fish.
    It’s quite nice to have that info when running 4 rods and different depths before finding the right combination of all for that day

Francis K
    Champlin, MN

Personally I run 10 colors on a Daiwa 47 using an 8’6″ Limit Creek trolling rod. Plain Jane 14# Cabela’s line for me. Awesome price for line right now at $7.88 for 200 yards.

Tuma
    Inactive
    Farmington, MN

What kind of budget do you have? How many setups are you hoping to have?

Ny
    N Metro

Tuma, I am looking to get 2 set ups going and I am really not looking to break the bank totally on them. Maybe 100-150 per set up.

Karry Kyllo