Pool 4 / Lake Pepin tackle box

• isu22andy

Need help burning up a gift card – I’m moving to the Rochester Area but I’m new to fishing this body of water . Fished walleyes bass pike ect before , but wondering what I’m overlooking for lures, jig heads cranks ect . Weights would be helpful as well . 1/4 oz and up ? Have a 18 foot crestliner boat . Use a lot of Shad raps and flicker Shad 5s here long lining for trolling and 1/4 ounce jig heads on paddle tails but everything’s different in the current . Open to suggestions .

Thanks for any help .

Charlie W
    TRF / Pool 3 / Grand Rapids, MN / SJU

More shad raps and flicker shads

eyeguy507
    SE MN

If you’re only trolling, flicker shads in bright colors. Personally my favorite is pulling a crawler harness with bottom bouncers or just using jigging raps. There isn’t much current in the lake just be prepared when the wind picks up.

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

The extremely abbreviated version:

Winter – Late April: Plastics like B-Fishn’ Tackle Moxis, Pulsars, Ringworms, a few stick baits to run 3 way rigs, jigs and hair jigs if that’s your thing

The rest of the Year: Shad Raps, Flickershads, stuff for bottom bouncing pulling crawlers, the basics for finesse fishing crawlers and leeches, the components to drown willow cats or other live bait on wing dams if that’s of interest to you

I’d say 9 of every 10 walleyes/saugers I catch on Pools 4 and 5, are NOT caught on live bait. There’s a ton of water out there. Try to find your favorite couple tactics and use them to cover water. I think being efficient and effective with a couple main strategies is way better than having many more that you only use sparingly or lack confidence in.

Steven Krapfl
    Springville, Iowa