Ice Fishing with plastics?

• jigging_jag
    SE Minnesota

I am new to the plastics world in fishing all together. Now, I’m looking at doing some pan fishing with plastics via ice. I need all the advice I can get and product info too! Help me guys I’m lost here

tindall
    Minneapolis MN

I was about to post something like this, but perhaps more along the lines of “plastics for dummies.” I have never caught anything through the ice without live bait, but would love the option of not having to run to the store everytime I just want to catch a couple fish for fun on a metro lake. I got a can of gulp alive yellow wax maggot looking like things thinking this would work, but I have never caught a fish on them, on ice, on open water in the summer, or ever. I have read through the old posts on this topic but people tend to use lots of jargon or abbreviations that don’t even produce google results.

If someone could state a few exact products that would arm one for trying to catch some panfish with artificial lures in terms a moron could understand when standing by the overwheling walls of lures at fleet farm, [censored], or joes, that would be awesome. Thanks!

tindall
    Minneapolis MN

Quote:

when standing by the overwheling walls of lures at fleet farm, [censored], or joes, that would be awesome. Thanks!

I guess one cannot refer to DicksSportingGoods without being censored! Hopefully no one’s name is Dick.

Calvin Svihel
    Northwest Metro, MN

I have begun to use a lot of plastics in the last few years and the best producing plastic for perch, sunfish, and crappies is the Nuggie both in the micro nuggie and regular nuggie. I think its more of the natural swimming motion these tails have with the added scent. lots of color combos to choose from but the red always seems to catch the most fish. This is the plastic that works best for me.

Tom Sawvell
    Inactive