steelhead

• jcira

I am new to the midwest. I have read some articles about fishing steelhead on Superiors feeder rivers. Does anyone have any knowledge of guides for that type of fishing? Also, I have eard of fishing salmon off of the jetties, any help there, where, time of year? Not looking for honeyholes, just a place to start my research.

david_scott
    Twin Cities

There isnt much for steelhead fishing in lake superior. There is plently of Kamloops fishing to be had however. Many of the creeks and rivers will get quite a few Kamloops moving in the early sping. Its similar to steelhead fishing.. spawn sacks, or crappie jigs under a bobber.

I am not up to date on water leve up there right now. I understand its low. I would focus my attention on the deeper rivers, or any of the river mouths along the shore.

As for salmon fishing these days.. the boats have the most luck. The occasional mixed bag of fish can be caught on spoons off the two harbors break wall.

Someone from the area should be able to chime in with more help on the area.

col._klink
    St Paul

I would have to agree with Dave. Steelies are mainly caught out on the big lake. Off shore. Loopers are pretty easliy caught from shore with spoons and with live bait in my experience. The salmon are also caught off shore in anywhere from 30′ to 100′ of water. If your looking for info Fishaolic lives in the area and might give you some ideas. I know laker fishing for me last year was decent.

Good Luck!

fishahollik
    South Range, WI

Yes, steelhead are not very abundant, but there are plenty of Cohos, Lake trout, Kings, Pinks, etc….Fishing at the mouth of the rivers will pick up soon once the ice melts. The levels of most of them need to come up from runnoff to allow the run upstream.