all I’m going to say

• Beast

Term limits and mandatory retirement.

MX1825

I’ve been hollering for term limits for 25 years.
    When you bring it up to elected officials they go deaf. They look at you and rotflol .

Dan
    Southeast MN

Thing is, those are 2 different things, and without both in place it could still be exploited.

I just can’t even grasp why they want to do it anymore. I know, money and power, but I wanna spend my later years on a lake and watching the northern lights through tall pine trees. I remember when John McCain was campaigning in the state in 2008, he was in Duluth one evening and was gonna be in the cities the next morning and I remember seeing him on TV at his age and wondering why you’d want to spend your aging years doing that.

gimruis
    Plymouth, MN

Is there an age minimum to serve as a senator or rep? I know you have to be 35 to be president but I think there should also be an age maximum. Like 65 years old.

picklerick
    Central WI

The general argument against term limits is every election allows us to limit their term but it’s hard when the village idiot’s vote counts as much as mine. A decent argument is that there is a risk of losing experienced people but I’m all for maybe 3-4 terms in the House and 2-3 in the Senate. I think there should only be one term for President.

How about an age limit? Does anyone think someone in their upper 70’s or 80’s needs to make policy decisions FOR OTHERS beyond which pudding or ice cream flavor to have for dessert? Yes, there are people that age that are very sharp and have wisdom, but they’re not seeing the future through the same lens as someone 40, 50, or even 60.

Dan
    Southeast MN

I had a college class where we spent considerable time discussing and researching having presidents serve one six-year term.

Gitchi Gummi