Small Rapalas

• john-tucker
    Northwest Illinois

Hey guys, got a crankbait question for ya’ll. My wife just came home from a yard sale with a box full of crankbaits, new in the box, for me. They are Rapala Countdowns, Floating Raps, and a few Shad Raps. They are mostly size 5, and quiet a few size 3. I am really new to cranking ‘eyes and am wondering if and when these small sizes would be most useful. She bought them from an old river rat who said they are all he ever uses. I have been using Wally Divers and deeper divers of several types, but all considerably bigger than these new baits. I have had some success trolling and fishing wings with 5 and 7 jointed and floatings Rapalas, but would sure appreciate any input on how and when to best use these small baits. I have never uses sinking/countdown cranks, how do you work them? This site is awesome, thanks in advance for any and all advice.

By the way, I see we have a new guy on board for Pools 14, 15, and 16. Pool 14 is my home water….welcome aboard Kensyl!

Hey, I just noticed I’m a “Regular” guy now, cracking open a cold one as I type!!!

Edited by Rooster on 07/20/01 11:58 AM.

stillakid2
    Roberts, WI

I actually use 3’s and 5’s on aggressive schools of sunnys and crappies in the spring. They love ’em! I know #5 Shad Raps get a lot of recognition in the posts here so I’m assuming that they are a good walleye choice.