Walleye on Plastics Exclusively?

• ec1
    NULL

Afternoon all!
    Something that’s crossed my mind as of late is that I don’t think I’ve seen very many shows / videos of people ice fishing for walleye with plastics. In the spring and summer, I usually have great luck with a Gulp 3″ Minnow, on a lift and drop presentation.
    On practically all the shows I’ve seen to date, jigs and spoons are always tipped with either a half minnow, or a full one.

Let’s hear some discussion on using artificial only for walleye through the ice.

Wharf Rat
    Mahtomedi

First off, I am not an expert on this, but I will share a theory of mine based on my limited experience.
    Fish are way more lethargic under ice and they are usually not as aggressive when they feed. For this reason the baits that work during open water season do not work as well through the ice. When fish are finicky they can more easily be triggered by some form of live bait added to the presentation. I have not tried the traditional minnow on a jig head through the ice but I don’t see any reason why it wouldn’t work, I just don’t hear of anyone doing it.
    The IDO staff has been using the new Rapala Ultralight Rippin’ Raps lately and seemingly doing well. For the first episode this season they were using these and catching lots of Walleyes. I think it might be because on Upper Red the Walleye bite is so good that almost anything works for catching them, but one of the IDO pro guys could say better if this is the case. One thing I know is because they are using these lures Joe’s was completely sold out of them on Black Friday.
    I have some Gulp Plastic minnows that I was thinking of trying through the ice this year so maybe I will just to test their effectiveness. I’m heading to Upper Red in a couple of weeks so that would be a good testing ground for them.

Mike Johnson
    Nashua Iowa