Recreational kayak recommendations

I have friends who are retired and are fit. They would be beginner kayakers who want to know about general all purpose kayaks. What model do you recommend? They want to paddle on lakes and possible easy class II rapid rivers. I have a 14′ P&H Orca sit in kayak which I like. It is 14 years old and still suits my purposes. It has one store away compartment. I would recommend the same boat to them but it is now outdated. They may do an occasional overnight trip. What model and brand would you advice them to buy? Any general recommendation would suffice. My ideal rec boat would be a 14’length.
    Also they would need a roof rack system to carry kayaks. Thules and Yakimas are pricey with a complete set going for $800.? Any recommendations for racks which do not break the bank.
    Thanks, Willie

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

Hey guys….welcome to In-Depth. applause

crappie55369
    Mound, MN

I am by no means a kayak expert and don’t have a ton of knowledge of all the models. I have a 12′ perception pescador. It’s a sit on top. Works great for fishing.

Not sure if you’re on FACEBOOK but there are a few food kayak groups there. Specifically the mn kayak association

Whopper Stopper
    Forest Lake MN

We have a lot of kayak experience unfortunately nothing we use would be considered a beginner kayak.

During the summer months some places offer a night each week where you can try some out.
    Definitely worth taking advantage of.
    WS

ThunderLund78

I have a fishing kayak, and my wife and two boys have recreational kayaks – A Perception Drift 9.5 for my wife, a Pelican Mustang for my 13 yr old and a Pelican Bandit for my 10 yr old (which we’re turning into a Bona Fide mini fishing kayak for him!).