new terrova lift assist question

• carver
    West Metro

With the lift assist, I read on BBC that it has a tendency popping out of the notch in rough water.

Anyone experience this?

Dutchboy
    Central Mn.

I have no experience with that but a Velcro strap should keep it from popping out during travel.

mike_utley
    Zumbrota, MN

True statement, in rough water it will lift from time to time.

carver
    West Metro

True statement, in rough water it will lift from time to time.

Ok…. is it not as bad as I’m thinking or a PITA when fishing.

munchy
    NULL

So it doesn’t latch in place like all the other Minn Kotas?

4 BUCK
    South Dakota

Like to hear more on this also. I am planning on getting one for the improved spot lock and jog feature.

blank

I’m assuming that by saying “popping out of the notch in rough water” you mean the notches on the steering mechanism at the collar along the shaft? I used the new Terrova with the lift assist all last year and don’t recall having that issue at all, but never did fish in very rough water. I think maybe once or twice the shaft did slide up a little after hitting a rough wave from a passing boat, but it went straight up and back down, not turning at all to miss-align the steering notches.

Personally, I wouldn’t let this concern deter you from the Terrova at all. I think you’d have to be fishing in some pretty rough waters for this concern to become an issue. The lift assist is nice and makes stowing very easy. IMO, this is the second best feature to the new Terrovas, after the incredible spot-lock accuracy.

Jeffrey Trapp
    Milbank, SD

I used my new terrova all last year in waves big enough to come over the bow of the boat. I never had an issue with it popping out. I would spot lock and fan cast and not have to worry about leaving the spot even in rough water coming over the bow. It’s a non-issue if you ask me.

carver
    West Metro