Musky, Musky, Musky!!!

• Kevin Collins
    Apple Valley, MN.

Since you frosties are off the ice and my Fisher’s Ice Out prediction for August 18th is in <sarcasm> and the Musky Expo in St. Paul is this weekend. I have decided to spend my tax return on gearing up to go gunning for Musky this year. This is my first year with an RV on Mille Lacs and I just joined IDO…

I’ve been doing some research. Some learking around here. AND I took one of Gene Millers legendary trips. Had the time of our lives. However… Gene like many others has gone commercial. He has taken on a partner and is charging you for $400 bucks for 6 hours of service. Gene is a great guy and I wish him all the luck in the world. With that said in the amount of musky fishing I want to do and the cost to use Gene’s gear and Gene’s boat and Gene’s knowledge it’s just cost prohibitive. I know he took us on the east side of the lake. I understand there are weedbeds along there as well as a drop off with a primarily sandy bottom. Gene also bragged that he was the first to name all the weedbeds on the lake. (is that true?)

Correct so far?

Like Gene I plan to use Planer Boards and basically troll. What I don’t know is where Gene positioned the boat. Is he skirting the edge of the weedbeds or buzzing the top of them or keeping to a curtain depth. I’m not trying to steel anything from Gene… I’m assuming he’s using typical musky weedbed fishing techniques that I could find for free on the the internet. Or (I hope) here.

Also are there other area’s on the lake where musky prowl? I’m stationed in Garrison but have no problem using any one of the resorts or public launches to get in the water.

I haven’t begun to purchase gear yet either. However I’m in a position to get 50% off St. Croix rods and 10% off of a lot of the other stuff like lures, landing net, line and so on.

So any suggestions on preferred or proven gear would be nice too.

Kevin

Huntindave
    Shell Rock Iowa