looking for recommendations for safety toe shoes/boots

• phishingruven
    tip of the mitten

need to get a pair of safety toe shoes/boots for work. what do you like? what are some quality brands?
    will be working outside on asphalt, grass and concrete.

Pat K
    Empire, MN

For a boot I like Timberland Mudslingers, comfortable and waterproof with a steel toe. For a tennis type shoe Timberland Sertas with a composite toe is pretty good.

hdog3385

I’ll only comment on asphalt boots since that’s what I’ve been doing for the last 21 years. I found these about 5 years ago and they are the best by a long shot. The sole can handle up to 592 degrees and they have a light 200 gram insulation which contrary to what most people think actually helps keep the heat out. I can walk on the 300 degree mat right behind the screed if needed and it barely leaves a mark.
    If your not primarily around asphalt I would pass on these though. The sole is flat and can be a bit slippery on other surfaces.

Attachments:
    1. asphalt-boots.jpg

Michael Best

Keen makes a very good work boot.
    With 30 years of construction Uber my belt. I have wore just about every brand there is.

Coletrain27

Red wing 2410 is what I’ve been wearing. I get a new pair every year

phishingruven
    tip of the mitten

not working on hot, fresh asphalt. sorry for the confusion. those were just the surfaces i’d be walking on.

The_Bladepuller
    South end

I wore Red Wing King Toes (I don’t remember the model #) that had composite safety toes. Warmer than steel, seemed to not cut in to the top of my toes when kneeling for layout / measurements, & IF there was an incident I was worried about the steel cap being crushed and to rebounding & toes being trapped.
    Soles seemed to have good life too.

Bearcat89
    North branch, mn

Red wing 2408

Ranger188VS