Larson FX Boats – Opinions?

• toddrun

Somehow this got posted in an odd forum and not the General Discussion forum, so no replies, so reposting in the General so hopefully get some input.

I have the opportunity to purchase a 2013 Larson FX1750DC with low hours. I have looked at Larson’s at boat shows, and I like how they are laid out, and I believe they are decent low end glass boats. But I have no practical experience, have not been in one on water, and have not met anyone that has and asked them any questions, so I thought I would inquire here.

Any pro’s or con’s from actual owners, or those with experience in these boats? Anything to look for on the boat, motor or trailer that were known issues?

I was looking to upgrade to a larger aluminum boat, I am an Alumacraft guy, but I understand that glass boats are much nicer on the water than tin. From reading, it sounds like Larson did some kind of design change in the 2014-2015 years, something like placing the console location in the boat, either forward or backward don’t know which, or why, if anyone knows. I know they have a lifetime hull warranty, but still like to hear if they have cracking issues, or any other issues. I have heard they are HEAVY too, but that does not bother me too much, not a speed guy, but I understand they can be under powered then. This one has a 115 Mercury 4-stroke, which I think is only adequate, but should be OK.

Any information anyone wants to share would be greatly appreciated.

eyeguy507
    SE MN

I wonder if this is the same boat I looked at this last spring? they are pretty rare to find for sale and this one was in Hudson Wisconsin I think? great looking boat aside from some dock rash on one side. had lowrance units and a motorguide bow mount. personally, I think it is underpowered with a 115 for how heavy it is and with a couple guys with gear, it would take a while to get on plane. did this boat have a 4 blade prop?

toddrun