Auger ???

• col._klink
    St Paul

Got a Strikemaster Lazer…..Problem not cutting well. Took the auger to Big Lake and they adjusted the pitch on the auger itself. But It still wobbles I noticted that the where the power head meets the auger shaft is where the wobble is coming from. If you stand the unit upright like your going to cut a hole you can rock the power head back and forth about a 1/2″ each way.

Is this normal? Can it be fixed? Any advice would be great!!! Thanks for the help. Got a week long trek coming up and not liking the idea of fighting with my auger to drill holes.

red89
    Hudson

Used or new? Might have to replace the bushing there.

arklite881south

I have an old Strikemaster Lazer that has a bit of play between the head and the shaft also. It is my Grandfather auger. He’s been there for me from the beginning!! I think I’ve burned a million holes with it, and I’m about ready to retire it to the cabin wall with a plaque by it for a lifetime achievement!! In my case the unit still cuts like a charm though, so my guess would be this won’t be an issue for cutting properly. Not sure what they adjusted with your auger, but because these augers are so finely tuned to be fierce cutting machines if the pitch is changed slightly the cutting is simply not the same. In all honesty I’ve been as guilty as the next guy in past years popping my auger on the sheet to clear some ice of the blades. I guess it is forums like ours that give that gentle reminder to probably not do that!! LOL!! Not saying that was the case with your auger, but just a reminder for all of us “Iceheads!”

loshinit420

My lazer mag does the same thing once in awhile, just tighten the bolt that holds the shaft together. Mine uses an allen wrench.

Jaya
    Zimmerman, MN

Quote:

My lazer mag does the same thing once in awhile, just tighten the bolt that holds the shaft together. Mine uses an allen wrench.

I had that allen bolt fall out, luckily i wasn’t through the ice yet!