Camera VS Flasher

• indy500x
    Minneapolis MN

So I am new to cameras and flashers and have never used a flasher in my life and don’t know how to use one. But I just bought my first ice house last year (Quickfish 6) and built a floor for it this year, and just bought my first auger (eskimo barricuda) and am in the market for a camera or a flasher but seeing the high price of flashers am wondering which I should go with. I have fished with a few buddies that use cameras and one that uses a flasher but I don’t know how to read a flasher and wondering if it would be a waste of money right now? Please chime in guys would like to know as much info as possible, I am itching to get out ice fishing and want to brush up on things before ice gets here!!!!!

francisco4
    Holmen, WI

I think you will find that a flasher is much more flexible in the different conditions that you can fish in. Depth, water clarity, ect.

FDR

Mike Klein
    Hastings, MN

Flasher hands down a better choice.

b-j-r
    Pool 4

x2 with the flasher. With the flasher you are covering the entire water column. With a camera your missing out on alot. Flashers are easy to use, watch some youtube “how to” vids. Cameras are fun, but a flasher imho is much more useful. I bought my flasher 1st then a camera the following year. They work well together, but I will fish without the camera, but not without my flasher.

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

Quote:

They work well together, but I will fish without the camera, but not without my flasher.

Totally Dude!!

indy500x
    Minneapolis MN

I didn’t even think about youtube I will have to check that out tomorrow and see.

chirp
    Rochester

Quote:

Flasher hands down a better choice.