Deer hunting 243?

• TeamBurbot

Iknow in minnesota it is totaly legal to hunt with a .243. but what are all of your views on it. is it to small or not.

big_g
    Isle, MN

This one was put down opening day by an 11 Year old named Jenna… with a .243 She heart shot it, her first hunt and deer A well placed round will do the job

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

I’ve shot a lot of deer with both a .223 and 22-250. Great calibers for an accurate shooter. A .243 is more than enough caliber. I watched my uncle shoot deer with .222. Amazing what a well placed shot will do.

corey_waller
    hastings mn

243 wife shoots a deer every year with it.

swimingjig
    Waumandee, WI

That is a great gun for deer.

norseman
    FAIRMONT MN

The .243 is a great choice for whitetail, antelope, and coyotes. I’ve been using one for all species for 30 years and haven’t once wished I’d had more gun. With a little change in bullet weights-types it’ll do it all. 1/2″moa groups aren’t uncommon.I have one handload that will shoot that at 200 yards!

riveratt
    Central Wisconsin US-of-A

Don’t let anyone talk you out of a .243! Some proclaim you need knock down power when in reality you simply need to know how to aim. Don’t rely on heavy bullets to rip apart large muscles when a sweet little bullet will easily destroy the heart and lungs killing just as easily as any other caliber. I use a .243 Ruger M77 Mark II and have for 15-16 years. I’ve killed probably 18-20 deer with that gun and each was as dead as need be. I’m looking forward to using it for ‘yotes this winter too and hope to work up a couple different recipes once I get my reloading stuff and figure out how to use it. Another fine caliber, not taking away from the .243, is the .257 Roberts. I feel it is a good idea to have both, lol.

jetdriver
    Hudson WI

I have both a .243 and .257 Roberts.
    Just like my pointed sticks from my bow or anything else!!

Shoot Placements!!

life1978
    Eau Claire , WI