Mercury 125????

• jigger2001
    Rochester

I have just odered a new 1750 fh crestliner with the merc 125. I am wondering what to expect from the merc motor? What type of oil to run? How long to run it to break it in? and any other info would be great.
    I have only used Johnson in the past, so I am totally new to Mercury.
    Thank you.

bassbaron
    eldridge, ia

I have a 97 merc 125- no problems to date (knock on wood). I use tcw-III oil in it as recommended. The only knock I have on it is at idle speed it sometimes dies- the time i really notice this is when pulling tube/ski/etc and when circuling around or tightening the rope it sometimes will die. When idleing (sp?) it seems to sputter. I am going to try that lube that was referred to in a past post to see if that helps. All in all no problems with the motor. Good luck.

crossin_eyes
    Lakeville, MN

Hey Jigger is this one of the 2+2 motors that Merc puts out? If so at idle, it’s only running on 2 cylinders then goes to 4 as you accelerate. I’ve heard alot of good things about the motor. Bass and Walleye Boat mag rated it as “best mid-range motor” in a shoot out a couple of years ago. I run Amsoil 2 stroke synthetic in all my toys and absolutely love it. My 75 hp Merc idles smoother and smokes less since I started using it. I highly recommend it.

jigger2001
    Rochester

Hey thanks. Yes it is the the 2+2 motor. I am hoping this elminate the $$$ kicker motor. Thanks again for the info.
    Jigger

James Holst
    Keymaster
    SE Minnesota