Over heat with a drift sock

• matt_grow
    Albertville MN

Alright so I spend %80 of my time on the ice.
    I currently cannot afford an ideal set up other wise I know what I’d do. I can’t get my 75 hp to idle down to troll in the 2 mph range. Therefore I’m forced to give the trolling motor a workout. Ok great and all but man does that do a number on a young guy. I’ve heard of a few that troll with their main motor pulling a drift sock. Some people claim this can easily cause the engine to over heat. I figure if your impeller is sucking in water then you should be OK. Anyone know the physics behind this? Is this a safe way to get-r-done until I can get college paid off?

jbongers
    South St. Paul, MN

I troll with a drift sock all of the time and have never had any problems, nor have I heard of anyone else having any. I’m no expert but I don’t think it is bad for them, like you said as long as the water is running through them I think it’ll be fine.

wade_kuehl
    Northwest Iowa

Shouldn’t be a problem Matt.

chris-tuckner
    Hastings/Isle MN

Same here. I trolled for a week straight at Mille Lacs last fall with a sock tacked to my front cleat. Kept the rope short enough to keep out of the motor, but long enough to deploy. I ran the smaller Drift Control brand. It worked PERFECT! Plus the steering was hardly effected with the smaller bag.

kooty
    Keymaster
    1 hour 15 mins to the Pond

Until I got the best kicker motor ever made, I was doing the same thing Matt. Never an issue with my 115.

Anyone notice what Tuck said??

chris-tuckner
    Hastings/Isle MN

Quote:

Anyone notice what Tuck said??

Huh?

wade_kuehl
    Northwest Iowa

Tuck, Kooty thinks any paragraph with the words “sock” and “bag” in it is a regular sit com. But, it is Kooty we’re talking about here.

TGM
    Lakeville,MN.

I got it koot…

chris-tuckner
    Hastings/Isle MN

Boy, good thing it had nothing to do with my cleat!

Hey Kooty….

derek_johnston
    On the water- Minnesota