need help

• natureboy
    LaCrosse,WI

Okay… I have been out flat’n about a dozen times this year already at night and have had very poor results. Being new to the sport I was wondering where the flats are in early summer (right now). I have tried deep holes (30+ft) and shallower holes with wood (10-15ft). my results have been very spotty and I can find no pattern. Is there a type of location I should specifically be targeting at this time of year? I know with bass you follow their food. And I know the panfish are up shallow staging on wood out of current in post spawn. But is that where to look for big flats at night? Plus where do you fish in relation to a big hole. On the rise of the slope? On the top? On the shallow rise going towards shore? Any insights as to what I am doing wrong would be greatly apprectiated!.

mplspug
    Palmetto, Florida

Let me predicate that I am no expert.

What do you mean by poor results? I am assuming that means you are catching some.

My first question would be what are you using for bait and what size?

To me it sounds like you might be targeting their daytime hide outs. If you fish into the night, I’d go shallow and out from the holes and wood. You can go upstream or downstream. My first choice is upstream, unless downstream looks more inviting with a shallow water shelf. What I do is in the evening start close to cover and holes. What I do is look for likely paths they would travel upstream in search of food. After dark I’ll move my bait up onto adjacent shallows.

Now I defer to people who actually are experts. But to me when I read you post about nothing less than 10′, deep holes and timber, my first is you might be concentrating on daytime and early evening areas.

natureboy
    LaCrosse,WI

How shallow and how from the holes are these fish going, and where are they going to feed. I am using scaled sunfish anywhere from 4 to 8 inches.

david_scott
    Twin Cities