ATV Tire Pressure

• crappie55369
    Mound, MN

Just got a new to me ATV. purchased on here from jackfish. Thanks for the quad bud! Its a 94 Yamaha Timberwolf 250 cc 4×4. Anyway ive only driven it around the block a few times so far and the tires are very squishy! To the point its difficult to turn. I read through the owners manual and it says tire pressure should be 3.6 PSI with the lowest being 3.2 PSI and the highest being 36 PSI. Im relatively new to ATV ownership, having only had one other one for a short stint in the past, so i was surprised to hear such low numbers. I checked the tire pressure in all 4 tires using the low pressure gauge that came with the quad and they are all around 3.5.

Is it normal for the tires to behave this way on hard surfaces? I imagine on softer surfaces like snow and sand and dirt it wouldn’t be so squishy. Should i add more air for riding on hard surfaces like pavement and ice? In what circumstances would you want to inflate these up to 36 PSI!? I know when people go off-roading in trucks they deflate their tires to avoid punctures.

Any guidance would be appreciated. Getting everything ready for ice fishing and want to get all my ducks in a row

Post edit: i think i may have slightly misread the manual. it says max tire pressure 36 PSI when seating the tire beads. It says on the next page that max PSI should be 4.0 PSI

CaptainMusky

Typically stock atv tires have very soft sidewalls and what you are experiencing is normal. I think you would like the performance a little better on the street or hard surfaces with 10psi, but softer will ride nicer in the rougher terrain. You may want to run at least 5Psi if you are in any terrain with rocks or something similar because you could risk a puncture with low psi. I run 10 in my quad and it works for me. Its also possible your shocks are past their expected lifespan too. They can be replaced cheaply.

munchy
    NULL