Worm Fishing Texas Rig – Different Worms – Your experiences and opinions?

• Bob P
    Shoreview MN

I’ve been mostly Texas Rig worm fishing lately. I fish solely from shore. I’m somewhat new to this in that I hadn’t fished for many years, getting back into it this summer. I never really knew how to rig a worm until a couple of months ago.

So first I was fishing with some old (20 year old) 6 inch Laker plastic worms I had. Black, brown, and purple. Some are curly tail and some are paddle tail. I’ve had decent luck with them. Seems color and tail type doesn’t make any difference. I usually use a small (1/8 or 3/16 oz) sliding torpedo weight in front of them. What I like about them are that they “float”. So with the weight, when they’re on the bottom, the worm stands up, tail up and a bit of water movement makes them waver. To me they look like fish would want to bite them. You can even fish them weightless if there is no wind or current. They do sink, very slowly, with just with the weight of the hook. They also sink nice and slow when wacky rigged.

A week ago I bought some Yamamoto 5 inch senkos and some Strike King 5 inch stick baits that look a lot like senkos. For these, I find that I need to fish them weightless. They’re weighty enough on their own, and can be cast quite far without weight. Both of these also work well, as long as there is not too much current or wind. I’ve had luck with both. The Yamamoto senkos are a little softer and seem to have a better feel, but I’ve caught equally with the Strike King, which are 1/3 the price. What I don’t like about both is that they don’t “float” like the Laker plastics.

I’m interested in some of your thoughts and experiences. Senko? Strike King? Others? Weighted? Weightless? Does anyone use the old style plastic worms?

I’m having fun. Today I landed a 24 inch northern on an unweighted Texas rigged Strike King 5 inch worm. Lucky for me, it hooked up right in front of the mouth so it didn’t bite through the line.