Wood carving… Q&A

• buschman
    Pool 2

Ok, so I have been slow here at work and have time to toss some photos up. If anyone has questions I can do my best to answer. Maybe I could even learn something new. I have been carving for 3 years now and learn something new every month. I posted two photos in B-mans post and don’t want to take away from his topic.

If anyone wants to see anything specific let me know. I carve mostly animals… Birds and fish are my favorite. Mostly chainsaw but not limited to just that. There are two kinds of chainsaw carvers. One group that carve only with the chainsaw and some are amazing at this with limited tools. The other group are guys like me. I carve 95 % of the wood with a saw but use a handful of other tools to really clean up and make to piece look the way I want it to by grinding, sanding and burning. I rarely paint wood.

I have progression photos also to show step by step progress. I believe I do anyways. I will dig through some photos and toss it up here. Something better to do than read fake news )

Here is a lake trout I posted in the other topic. This is a piece of seasoned black walnut. You will see different color to the wood. This is natural. The white wood is the outer sap wood and the dark colors is the inner heartwood. I like leaving sapwood in the carvings. Builds nice contrast.

Attachments:
    1. laker-finished-h-side.jpg

2. laker-fishing-s-side.jpg

3. lake-trout-black-backround-1.jpg

4. laker-r-side.jpg

5. laker-heart-side-1.jpg

6. laker-pre-mount.jpg

7. laker-l-side.jpg

glenn57
    cold spring mn

nice stuff!!!!! peace peace have you ever entertained the idea of carving fish decoys, for like spearing?? or going to some of these decoy shows???

I go to the decoy show in Alexandria, had 1 guy from up by grand rapids that hand carved a ruff grouse. that was goergous, but a bit out of my price range!!!! mrgreen

looking forward to seeing more pictures.

buschman
    Pool 2