Winterizing and boat stroage

• Justin riegel

This is my first year owning an outboard that needs winterizing. Couple questions

1. I live in the NE metro and would prefer to store it versus having it sit on the side of my house for winter, but I am not willing to pay $350 bucks to have it sit outside somewhere else, anybody know of any cheap winter storage options?

2. As far as winterizing is it a hard process? i would be willing to pay to have somebody do it but if it is relatively easy i could do it myself?

Thanks guys

buckybadger
    Upper Midwest

Step 1: Use boat the entire Winter and save $ and minimize the hassle

bigcrappie
    Blaine

I live in Blaine and do my own motor and have been for 20 years. Its not hard to change the oil and lower gear lube. Cost are about $60 in parts for my 115 hp. I also grease the zerks, and try to get most of the water out of the system with draining the fresh water flush I have on the side of the motor. Then I wash the boat and vacuum it out. Load it up with moth balls or fabric sheets and but it away.

What year and size motor do you have Justin?

Justin riegel

I would love to but when it is 25 below out side for 2 weeks I can’t get out and my garage is too small to store it. I usually like getting fishing again at the end February.

Will I have to worry about the boat sitting out on some nights in the spring when the temps drop below freezing?

crappie55369
    Mound, MN

I have an 18′ boat with a main outboard and a kicker. Both get winterized. The boat is shrink wrapped each winter and stored outside at their fenced in facility. I usually spend around $500 total to winterize both motors include oil change, shrink wrap and storage. PM me if you would like to know who I use. you have to drive a ways out of town to get those kind of rates keep in mind. those services in the city would cost me $800-$1000

Kyhl
    Savage

It always makes me sad to see these topics come up. The fun season is coming to a close.