Wolf River

• Randy Wieland
    Lebanon. WI

It has been a while since I’ve had the time to sit a computer and generate a report. So for everyone that has been calling, sending PMs, or email, I apologize for the delay and lack of up-to-date info.

So, here is an over-view of things from ice out to now.

Walleyes – The up run seemed to be lacking compared to prior years in the upper sections of the river. However, lower sections of the river with good spawning habitat was outstanding. I’ve been documenting the up-run for the last 13 years and it has been amazing the accuracy level when compared to the new moon phases. The vast majority had moved into the river while still ice covered and held until the conditions were suitable to do their thing. Many of the small patches of cattails from the Wolf’s mouth to Gills Landing had a good number of fish spawning on them this year. Clients pitching purple, chartreuse, and firecracker color ringworms, paddletails, moxies, and pulse-r’s on 1/16oz jigs caught & released a lot of nice 22″-25″ and of coarse, plenty of their male companions.

With the fluctuating water temps and levels, the fish would drop off these shallow shelves and hang in the adjoining holes/runs.

I fished very little pre-spawn in the Lew london to Shiocton area so I have no relevant info for that stage.

Many of the females appeared to rush their job of dropping eggs and get out of Dodge….. The crank bait bite at night was the shortest I have ever experienced. Many spots that produced, only held fish for one or two nights and then …. done. We experienced a great 4 day window of some really nice spawned out walleyes moving down. I followed them from well above Gills down river. They didn’t hang out in the river very long and it seemed as if you heard a report of nice fish, you were two days too late.