Where is the mississippi trout thread?

• Jeff mattingly
    Lonsdale, Mn

I Decided to post this here cause we were pre fishing for the freeze your butt of tournament. My fishing partner Dave caught this brown trout in 12 feet of water on a plain hook and minnow off a Dubuque rig North of everts Friday evening. I’ve heard of trout occasionally being caught, but never thought I would ever see it. Pretty cool if you ask me. Im in my 5th year of trying to learn pool 4, and It was our first time fishing the tournament. Fishing was tough for most, except for the couple 25 and 27 pound bags brought in. Goes to show I have lots more to learn and try on pool 4. We did weigh 4 fish though, and if we had one more we would have made the 9th or 10th spot which I was very pleased with. Maybe next year. I know im fairly new to pool 4, but I have never seen the amount of pike that were being caught. Our biggest was in the 7 to 8 pound range and seen one caught that had to go 18+ pounds with numerous 2 to 4 pounders caught. Highlight of the weekend was by far the brown trout though.

Attachments:
    1. 20180302_171258.jpg

TheFamousGrouse
    St. Paul, MN

Now if we could just get an epic run of Mississippi steelhead established, we’d really have something.

My father set the hook on a nice walleye at the outlet of Lake Pepin in the 1970s. The thing came leaping out of the water with a beautiful arc, just like a rainbow trout. Well, as it turned out, it WAS a rainbow trout. Nice one too, about 3 pounds.

Grouse

Brian Klawitter
    Keymaster
    Minnesota/Wisconsin Mississippi River

The trout come out of Hay Creek but more likely the Trimbell with the cold water and more food in the river. There’s been reports of browns being caught at the dam. Some dandy’s too.

This is the time when a person says “Ya never know what you’ll catch in the river” lol!

There was another Brown caught this weekend as well. Pretty little buggers eh?

Fife
    Ramsey, MN